motoring|underground

motoring|underground (http://www.motoringunderground.com/forum/index.php)
-   Style (http://www.motoringunderground.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   R56 Facelift interior retrofit? (http://www.motoringunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21874)

Rally 08-19-2011 06:08 AM

R56 Facelift interior retrofit?
 
I found a wrecked 2011 JCW R56 and they have the black gauge faces and black-buttoned center console. It has the same non-auto climate control that I have. Is this basically plug and play or is it one of those things where the silly ECUs won't match up?

I have the boost audio upgrade if that has anything to do with it.

ducks 08-19-2011 07:40 AM

Good question, would like to know this as well. If the car has navigation then the controls are different. So I assume the wiring is different as well. Don't know if they have like a universal wiring loom for the different options.

rkw 08-19-2011 08:54 AM

The actual speedo & tach instrument gauges are coded to the VIN. If all of the indicators and warning lights remained the same for 2011, it may be worthwhile to swap in just the black gauge face plates to your current speedo & tach.

I suspect that the center components and radio are plug compatible, but don't know about programming requirements.

Rally 08-19-2011 05:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ducks (Post 703376)
Good question, would like to know this as well. If the car has navigation then the controls are different. So I assume the wiring is different as well. Don't know if they have like a universal wiring loom for the different options.

No navigation in either car which probably helps.

midnitecoop 08-19-2011 07:59 PM

This could get interesting..

Rally 08-19-2011 08:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by midnitecoop (Post 703541)
This could get interesting..

Only if someone chimes in with advice :P

midnitecoop 08-19-2011 08:09 PM

Besides the Gauge faces and buttons being black what makes you want to do the retrofit?
Sorry for the curiosity, I have not really spent much time in a R56.
I've only sat in two and that was not recently either..

Rally 08-19-2011 08:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by midnitecoop (Post 703555)
Besides the Gauge faces and buttons being black what makes you want to do the retrofit?
Sorry for the curiosity, I have not really spent much time in a R56.
I've only sat in two and that was not recently either..

It's simply to change everything to black and remove all the silver plastic. The black gives a far higher end, classier look that I'm attracted to. As it stands, my interior has way too many colors going on. Black, cream white, silver, brown woodgrain, chrome.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_7LQxj656qB...W+interior.jpg

midnitecoop 08-19-2011 08:15 PM

That would look really killer!
It does indeed have a more high end look to it and less colors going on is simply cleaner in the end.

hardingsan 08-19-2011 08:25 PM

the black buttons don't look any better with the white faces. jcw is the only way to go.

http://newautovehicle.com/wp-content...r-1024x680.jpg


unfortunately that's all i got. i'm pretty sure when you switch tachs you need to reprogram, but i'm not sure how much you're trying to take of the junker.

ElderHatesman 03-06-2013 05:03 AM

I'd love to swap the lower HVAC and stereo controls too. The silver just looks a little goofy compared to the black.

CTurbinado 03-06-2013 06:22 AM

i have done this and can confirm it is plug & play. there is no coding required and you can use your current speedo which makes things easier

koen3001 03-09-2016 12:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CTurbinado (Post 775831)
i have done this and can confirm it is plug & play. there is no coding required and you can use your current speedo which makes things easier

I replaced the climate controls and radio today from pre-facelift grey to facelift black. The radio and speedo are working great and I didn't get any errors.

The climate controls also light up and respond when I set the temperature and fan higher or lower and it looks like it's working but it's not doing anything. If I set airco to Hi , Low or Max doesn't matter, the airco just doesn't turn on.

All the other buttons not related to airco work.

Any idea?

ducks 03-10-2016 07:06 AM

You can exchange the silver buttons faces with the black ones instead of exchanging the whole unit.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2005 motoring|underground, all rights reserved.