motoring|underground  
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Blog

Maintenance, Problems, and Repairs Troubleshooting your car's woes.

Go Back   motoring|underground > On the Lifts > Maintenance, Problems, and Repairs
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-01-2007, 03:54 PM
DEye's Avatar
DEye DEye is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Eastern, Canada
Posts: 891
Default ODB2 Scan Tool

Does anyone have a ODB2 Scan tool for their MINI ?

Like one of these ?
http://www.iequus.com/products.php?category_id=1_10_7

How usefull has it been to you ?
Any MINI Specific support ?
or Lack of MINI Specific usefull things ?

Some i've looked at did not have ABS, Airbag or Body code support ?
I emailed Tech support and they said if it cant see the codes you also can't reset them...

The Car is out of warranty, so when things come up like O2 sensors replacement etc... if you know what you need to work on you can do it your self rather than make an appointment, drive the XXX Miles - drop it off blah blah blah ...


I'd appreciate any info anyone can provide...
Thanks
__________________
You can't get there from Here !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2007, 07:57 PM
DEye's Avatar
DEye DEye is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Eastern, Canada
Posts: 891
Default

I guess that would be a No...
__________________
You can't get there from Here !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2007, 08:15 PM
Slow Paul Slow Paul is offline
μ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 13,742
Default

I've never needed on.........If you got a buddy with one then why waste you money.......as for service light reset there is a method to do those with out a special tool.
__________________
Live Slow, Die Old
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2007, 08:48 PM
DEye's Avatar
DEye DEye is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Eastern, Canada
Posts: 891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruiser View Post
I've never needed on.........If you got a buddy with one then why waste you money.......as for service light reset there is a method to do those with out a special tool.
Yup all you need is the key and the button pushing sequence to do the service Interval stuff... But a few of us have had the AirBag light come on because of the connectors... So it would be nice to have better aim when your trying to trouble shoot something.
__________________
You can't get there from Here !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2007, 05:22 AM
KiLO's Avatar
KiLO KiLO is offline
μ
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 11,662
Send a message via ICQ to KiLO Send a message via AIM to KiLO Send a message via MSN to KiLO Send a message via Yahoo to KiLO
Default

OBD is somewhat generic, so there's no need for a MINI specific one really.

I've got this one and it's all I've needed (the smallest one at the bottom):

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2007, 05:41 AM
werD's Avatar
werD werD is offline
μ
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a chair, behind a desk.
Posts: 9,115
Send a message via AIM to werD
Default

Amazon.com had 'em on sale. Seemed like a good deal - something like $50 for the little Actron one... Not sure how that compares to other stores, but might be worth checking out.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Just drive dammit.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-02-2007, 06:04 AM
COOUUPERS COOUUPERS is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SoCal Glendale
Posts: 1,484
Send a message via AIM to COOUUPERS
Default

Everytime you do need it or need to reset a light or check a code , just drive to your nearest AutoZone , they let you borrow it for a day or on the spot.Works for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-02-2007, 08:32 PM
KiLO's Avatar
KiLO KiLO is offline
μ
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 11,662
Send a message via ICQ to KiLO Send a message via AIM to KiLO Send a message via MSN to KiLO Send a message via Yahoo to KiLO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewmon View Post
Amazon.com had 'em on sale. Seemed like a good deal - something like $50 for the little Actron one... Not sure how that compares to other stores, but might be worth checking out.
Yeah... $50 for the Actron is pretty decent.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-03-2007, 04:27 AM
DEye's Avatar
DEye DEye is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Eastern, Canada
Posts: 891
Default

The Actron doesn't sound like a bad way to go...

Thanks
__________________
You can't get there from Here !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


CURRENT MOON

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2005 motoring|underground, all rights reserved.