motoring|underground  
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Blog

The Paddocks General automotive banter, covering any make and model.

Go Back   motoring|underground > The Pits > The Paddocks
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-25-2012, 05:31 PM
oreo's Avatar
oreo oreo is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 1,951
Send a message via AIM to oreo Send a message via Yahoo to oreo
Default DRLs on my Jetta

Like my Mini, my Jetta came with daytime running lights turned on by default. Unfortunately, having headlights on is causing my wife to drive around at night with no tail lights, because she sees the headlights against the wall in the garage and figured they're already on.

So I need to get the things off ASAP. I phoned the dealer, and they refused to do it, stating a non-existent MD law that requires they be on (perhaps the tech didn't expect to have a customer who works for the US DOT on the phone). Funny how the Mini dealer had no problems shutting off the DRLs.

Anyway, I'm wondering if any of you VW people know of an easy way to shut them off, before I go raise a stink with the dealer on Friday.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2012, 05:37 PM
hardingsan's Avatar
hardingsan hardingsan is offline
μ
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Posts: 8,775
Default

isn't this the infamous euro light switch all the VW guys buy and install? replaces the rotating light switch to the right of the steering wheel?

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
LiB/Silver ClubmanS
flickr


Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2012, 05:39 PM
Blackbomber's Avatar
Blackbomber Blackbomber is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Middletown, CT
Posts: 238
Default

What year Jetta? In the case of the mkIV, at least, it's darn easy. I did it in two minutes on my 2002. You simply bend down a pin in the headlight switch harness, and you're done:

http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...want-some-pics.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2012, 06:32 PM
oreo's Avatar
oreo oreo is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 1,951
Send a message via AIM to oreo Send a message via Yahoo to oreo
Default

It's a 2012. But it doesn't have that switch in the pic. It's a 2-position switch with just on and off.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2012, 07:26 PM
hardingsan's Avatar
hardingsan hardingsan is offline
μ
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Posts: 8,775
Default

like so?

Click the image to open in full size.



the first pic is the euro version. i believe if you go to www.vwvortex.com you can find someone willing to sell you the euro version that you can then install. i'm not sure if ECU coding is required.
__________________
LiB/Silver ClubmanS
flickr


Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2012, 07:49 PM
oreo's Avatar
oreo oreo is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 1,951
Send a message via AIM to oreo Send a message via Yahoo to oreo
Default

Yep that's pretty much the one.

The euro switch sounds fun, but I don't know if my car could utilize all the other settings on that switch, not to mention the fact that my car doesn't have fog lights.

The "bend the pin" option sounds better, assuming I can find the connector containing the pin in question.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2012, 03:21 AM
oreo's Avatar
oreo oreo is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 1,951
Send a message via AIM to oreo Send a message via Yahoo to oreo
Default

So does anyone know where I find this connector with the pin that needs to be bent back? I managed to pull the headlight switch, but the connector there isn't the one in the pic on vwvortex.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2012, 08:10 AM
Sketch's Avatar
Sketch Sketch is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 6,012
Default

Do you have a friend with a VAG-Com cable/software? Surely they can be turned off with that if nothing else works.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:01 PM
MartijnGizmo's Avatar
MartijnGizmo MartijnGizmo is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Posts: 1,724
Default

^^ that

Or get a VAG-Com cable your self, there's lots of info on it online, not that hard to do, and lets you turn on/off lots of other neat options.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:52 PM
oreo's Avatar
oreo oreo is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 1,951
Send a message via AIM to oreo Send a message via Yahoo to oreo
Default

Sounds x-rated.

So, something like this:
http://www.obd2-scanner.com/usb-vwau...26oh6jab0njn05

Assuming it works with my MK6.

This one mentions "A6" which I think is my platform:
http://www.bestofferbuy.com/VAGCOM-H...aign=gbase_usa
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:56 PM
oreo's Avatar
oreo oreo is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 1,951
Send a message via AIM to oreo Send a message via Yahoo to oreo
Default

Found a forum with a pic of my actual switch! :up:
http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread...103477&page=10

But I think I'd rather get the VAG-Com, assuming the non-$350 one actually works.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-27-2012, 05:44 AM
oreo's Avatar
oreo oreo is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 1,951
Send a message via AIM to oreo Send a message via Yahoo to oreo
Default

Got it!

I tried pulling pins on my headlight switch (I tried all of them) to no avail. It appears that the tfl pin trick doesn't work on the newer models.

I tried the wiper stalk trick. Also nada.

Finally I did a little investigating and found that the DRLs use the high beam bulb. So I pulled a bulb and found three connectors and two elements. AHA! I taped off one connector with electrical tape and put it back in. DRLs worked but no high beams. I pulled the bulb and moved the tape to the second connector, and NO DRLs!!!

I repeated the process on the other bulb. Now I have no DRLs, and the best part is, it's totally reversible!
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-28-2012, 04:12 AM
oreo's Avatar
oreo oreo is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 1,951
Send a message via AIM to oreo Send a message via Yahoo to oreo
Default

Well that ended up being a temporary fix. The car is now whining about the DRL bulbs being out. Ugh.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


CURRENT MOON

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2005 motoring|underground, all rights reserved.