motoring|underground  
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Blog

The Garage The place to show off your pride and joy. Show us your motoring masterpiece herein!

Go Back   motoring|underground > The Pits > The Garage

Old 08-26-2012, 08:26 PM
Y Rated - 186 mph

Default All I wanted was S spokes and a standard airfilter

I think I've had the Mini for a year and a half now. I bought it like this:

Click the image to open in full size.

Tbh I thought it was nothing to be ashamed of but I didn't know any better. I knew that the wheels had to go though. It took me 2 days to get a puncture. I knew they couldn't have much strength and sure enough when one was put on the balancing machine, it was all over the place.

The Mini came with this generic looking airfilter cone. Whenever I hit the loud pedal from low revs the car would stutter like it was being choked. I'm no engine expert but I was willing to bet a months wages that the dirty airfilter was part of the problem.
I was on Totalmini at the time. They directed me over to Minitorque when asking about a better airfilter. (If I was going to keep the car for a while I may as well fit something good. Plus the DaveF looked standard.) Sure enough the DaveF meant the car could breathe easily and the choking stopped. After reading for a while I decided to stay at MT.

I soon decided that I wanted a taste of track driving and bought a few parts
MeisterR coilovers
KMT chargecooler
16" Rota Fighters with R888 rubber
SPC camber arms
R56 S calipers, Nitrac discs & Mintex pads.
and a set of 17" OZ Superleggera.s

1320 was the closest recommended tuner so I paid them a visit. The car came out looking like this:

I liked the coils. The Mini was ready for a trackday at Snetterton. I told a mate about it and he brought his Civic Type R. His mate trailered his 2.0l 205 Gti which was more fun than the Mini.