motoring|underground  
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Blog

Accelerating From engines to gearboxes--tuning the parts that make your car go.

Go Back   motoring|underground > On the Lifts > Accelerating
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-10-2014, 10:23 PM
wpoff85 wpoff85 is offline
N Rated - 87 mph
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Default Oil pressure sender questions

I'm going to be installing some gauges soon. I was wondering if anyone knows if I remove the OE oil pressure sender if it will throw a CEL or if my oil light will stay on permanently? Im thinking of just doing away with it and installing an adapter fitting and remote mounting my aftermarket sender. I just cant see paying $50 for the cravenspeed adapter. I can make one out of weatherhead fittings, but if the OE one isn't needed then i will remove it instead.

Are there any ill effects for doing this? Does the ECU use this info for anything important like timing?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2014, 06:58 AM
Camaro's Avatar
Camaro Camaro is offline
Y Rated - 186 mph
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,968
Send a message via AIM to Camaro Send a message via Yahoo to Camaro Send a message via Skype™ to Camaro
Default

You will need to make your own adapter because you will throw a CEL with it disconnected.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2014, 11:32 AM
professor's Avatar
professor professor is offline
μ
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 3,242
Default

The oem pressure sender will not cause a cell. It won't even cause the oil pressure light to come on. Its a ground system. Assuming we are talking r50 r53 here.

Have a few minis in the shop right now if you need a demonstration for proof
__________________
___________________
Zues - 14 BRZ Limited
Rowdy - 07 STI Limited
OddJob - 01 Forester
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2014, 11:23 AM
wpoff85 wpoff85 is offline
N Rated - 87 mph
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Sorry I havn't been on in a few weeks, Been busy with work. Ok so professor your saying that the oem pressure sender wont cause an oil light if its removed? I thought that it would cause one if the pressure dropped to 3.5 psi? If this is really the case then I'm just going to remove the oem sensor and install a reducer for my remote line. I also thought that if the psi dropped and set the light that the fuel pump was shut off, is this correct?

Thanks for your responses.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2014, 02:35 AM
professor's Avatar
professor professor is offline
μ
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 3,242
Default

No faults if you remove it. The MINI does not have a fuel cut for low oil pressure condition. Just make sure to keep an eye on your aftermarket gauge.
__________________
___________________
Zues - 14 BRZ Limited
Rowdy - 07 STI Limited
OddJob - 01 Forester
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2014, 12:44 PM
wpoff85 wpoff85 is offline
N Rated - 87 mph
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Found this on Summit. www.summitracing.com/parts/mor-65310

It looks the exact same as the Craven adapter, only its $13. I just ordered one this morning.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


CURRENT MOON

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:11 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2005 motoring|underground, all rights reserved.